Medical universities

V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University

Link to official site

The University of Kharkiv or officially Vasyl Karazin Kharkiv National University is one of the major universities in Ukraine, and earlier in the Russian Empire and Soviet Union. It was founded in 1804 through the efforts of Vasily Karazin and pursuant to the charter of Tsar Alexander I. The inauguration of the university was done on 29 January, 1805. The university gave a powerful impetus to the emergence of Kharkov as a major scientific, cultural centre and an academic hub of Ukraine. Today the University is rated among the best Ukrainian classical universities and is known around the world for its knowledge and reputation.

Ukrainian Medical Stomatological Academy (Poltava)

Link to official site

The Kharkiv Medical Academy of odontology established Ukrainian Medical Stomatological Institute as one of its odontologic faculty in 1921. The institute was moved to Poltava region in 1967, and was renamed as the Poltava Medical Stomatological Institute (PUMSA). Till date the university is situated in Poltava, which is the 7th largest and central city of Ukraine located on the Vorskla River. It is one of the central hubs for industrial, scientific, cultural and agricultural activities.

Belgorod State University

logo belgorodLink to official site

The history of Belgorod State University is closely connected with the history of pedagogic education in Russia. In 1860s the development of economy, trade and military brought about the increase of educational institutes establishments. Since 1872 special educational organisations – teaching institutes – were established. The university was initially founded as a Teacher’s Training Institute on September 26, 1876 in a district town, Belgorod by the order of the Ministry of Public. It was the ninth teacher’s training institute in the Belgorod region.

The Peoples' Friendship University of Russia

RUDN University logoLink to official site

The Russian Government established the Peoples' Friendship University (PFU) on 5 February 1960. On 22 February 1961, the University was named as Patrice Lumumba University after the name of Congolese independence leader Patrice Lumumba. The university is one of the leading and higher educational state institutions of Russia. It is an educational and research institution located in southern part of Moscow. It is ranked by the Ministry of Education of Russia as the country's third-best university after Moscow State University and Saint Petersburg State University.

First Moscow state medical university

Link to official site

I.M. Sechenov First Moscow State Medical University is the first and the oldest medical higher educational institution in Russian federation gracing its history from the medical faculty of Moscow Imperial University founded in 1758. University was known by the name of I.M. Sechenov First Moscow Institute of Medicine (before 1990), from 1990 – 2010 it was known by the name of I.M. Sechenov Moscow Medical Academy. The university is located in the cosmopolitan city of Russia, Moscow, which is located in the western Russia on the Moskva River.

Kirov State Medical Academy/Komi branch Syktyvkar State University

Link to official site

Kirov State Medical Academy/Komi branch Syktyvkar State University was established in accordance with the Decree of the USSR Council of Ministers (№698) on 24th September, 1971. The University registered under the resolution of the RSFSR Council of Ministers (№ 580) on October 25, 1971. Kirov State Medical Academy/Komi branch Syktyvkar State University officially started working from February 10, 1972.

Siberian state medical university

Link to official site

The Siberian State Medical University is a medical college in Tomsk, Russia. The first university ever opened in the Asian part of Russia and one of the oldest medical schools in Russia and in east of the Urals. Tomsk is a charming city located in the east of Western Siberia; the city is situated on the Tom River. Tomsk is one of the oldest towns in Siberia. The city is a major educational, scientific and innovation centre of Siberia.

Novosibrisk state university

Link to official site

With the declaration of the Council of Ministers of the USSR Novosibirsk State University was established on 9th January, 1958, by Soviet academicians Mikhail Alekseevich Lavrentiev,Sergei Lvovich Sobolev and Sergey Alekseyevich Khristianovich, six months after the decision to found the Siberian Branch of the USSR Academy of Sciences. Novosibirsk state university is located in the world-famous scientific centre – Akademgorodok which is 30 kilometres away from Novosibirsk.

Irkutsk state medical university

Link to official site

Irkutsk State Medical University was created in October 1918 in Irkutsk, which is one of the largest cities in Siberia and the administrative centre of Irkutsk Oblast, Russia. The foundation of the university was laid with the aim towards the improvement of higher education in Siberia and Russian Far East. In a very short span of time the Irkutsk State University became the major scientific, educational and cultural centre on the vast territory of Eastern Siberia. Initially there were only two faculties at the University: the Faculty of History and Philology and the Law Faculty.